Slimbox at the Lyntonian

I was reminded this morning of a javascript add on called Lightbox, described like this:

a simple, unobtrusive script used to overlay images on the current page.

However, my google search also brought me to a similar plugin, that is based on Lightbox. It is called Slimbox. I looked into this one a bit and wanted to use the most lightweight add on. You can find some of the features here, which led me to try it out on my site.

Now, the main scenarios for me using this will most likely be when I want to showcase more than just one photo. If you click on the photo above, you will see the gallery in action. Tumblr is mega easy for posting images on the fly, but I just got to thinking, and kinda wanted that extra kick of functionality.

One other thing I want to point out, is that I do not have a web hosting account. Tumblr allows for custom domains (for free) which I definitely love about them. However, for times like this javascript plugin, or even my custom theme, I use Dropbox. It continues to blow me away at the things I can do with it. Basically, I have the javascript and css files on my computer, but they are being referenced from the public url that Dropbox gives me for the files. I also tested putting the javascript files on pages.google.com, and the javascript did not load. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

